Data integration is an essential component of data science research in almost all research areas that use heterogeneous data varying in format, dimensionality, quality and granularity.  The examples are endless: multi-omics data integration is increasingly critical in biological research; clinical research benefits greatly from the integration of patient longitudinal data, lab data, sensor data and other types of diagnosis and self-report; environmental monitoring often needs the integration of statistical data, image data and geospatial data; social science research, including education, political science and economics, increasingly integrates social media and other web-based data with traditional survey data…

All the applications encounter similar data science challenges, including idiosyncratic integration methods, missing data, bias and coverage, consistency and quality control issues. The Michigan Institute for Data Science (MIDAS) research working group on data integration welcomes researchers with interest in data integration methodology and its application in any scientific domain.  We hope to create an interdisciplinary forum that will foster new ideas and collaborations.

Data Integration research mailing list

Last, First Name Position and Department Email address
Adorf, Carl Simon PhD Candidate and GSRA, Chemical Engineering, csadorf@umich.edu
Ansari, Sahar Postdoc, Human Genetics sansario@umich.edu
Asudeh, Abolfazl Research Fellow, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science a.asudeh@gmail..com
Athey, Brian Professor, Computational Medicine and Bioinformatics bleu@umich.edu
Azizi, Ebrahim Research Faculty, Internal Medicine eazizi@med.umich.edu
Bao, Shuming Director, China Data Center sbao@umich.edu
Chen, Yang Assistant Professor, Statistics ychenang@umich.edu
Dinov, Ivo Professor, HBBS/DCMB dinov@umich.edu
El Naqa, Issam Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology ielnaqa@med.umich.edu
Elliott, Michael Professor, Biostatistics/Survey Research mrelliot@umich.edu
Estill, Jamie Business Systems Analyst Lead, HITS Research Integration jaestill@med.umich.edu
Fei, Zhenyu Biomedical Engineering timfei@umich.edu
Fries, Kevin PhD Student – Infrastructure Systems (Civil Engineering) kjfries@umich.edu
Goldsmith, Bryan Assistant Professor, Chemical Engineering bgoldsm@umich.edu
Hector, Emily Student, Biostatistics ehector@umich.edu
Hedstrom, Margaret Professor, School of Information hedstrom@umich.edu
Hero, Al Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science hero@umich.edu
Jagadish, H Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science jag@umich.edu
Jin, Zhongjun GSRA, Computer Science and Engineering markjin@umich.edu
Lee, Pilhwa Research Investigator, Molecular and Integrative Physiology pilee@umich.edu
Levina, Liza Professor, Statistics elevina@umich.edu
Luo, Lan PhD student, Biostatistics luolsph@umich.edu
Marini, Simone Research Investigator, Computational Medicine and Bioinformatics, Human Genetics smarini@med.umich.edu
Mayes, Heather Assistant Professor, Chemical Engineering hbmayes@umich.edu
Mayo, Charles Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology cmayo@med.umich.edu
Mozafari, Barza Assistant Professor, Computer Science mozafari@umich.edu
Murphey, Yi Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering yilu@umich.edu
Park, J Data Scientist, CCC kddum@umich.edu
Sanchez, Brisa Associate Professor, Biostatistics brisa@umich.edu
She, Bing Postdoc, China Data Center bingshe@umich.edu
Song, Peter Professor, Biostatistics pxsong@umich.edu
Song, Jie PhD Candidate, Computer Science and Engineering jiesongk@umich.edu
Sukaew, Thitiporn Postdoc, School of Nursing thsukaew@umich.edu
Sun, Yuekai Assistant Professor, Statistics yuekai@umich.edu
Suzer-Gurtekin, Tuba Assistant Research Scientist, Institute for Social Research tsuzer@umich.edu
Taylor, Jeremy Professor, Biostatistics jmgt@umich.edu
Verma, Manish Geospatial Consultant, CSCAR manishve@umich.edu
Wu, Zhenke Assistant Professor, Biostatistics zhenkewu@umich.edu
Zhou, Ling Postdoc, Biostatistics zholing@umich.edu
Zou, Shasha Associate Professor, Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering shashaz@umich.edu