This page provides material from the meeting of the BD Spoke Workgroup, April 24, 2017. Please email midas-contact@umich.edu for more information.

Attendees and interested researchers

Name Title and Department Email address Intended response areas
Christopher Brooks Research Assistant Professor, School of Information brooksch@umich.edu Education; Replicability and Reproducibility in Data Science
Walter Mebane Professor, Political Science/Statistics wmebane@umich.edu Data Intensive Research in the Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences
Paul Zimmerman Assistant Professor, Chemistry paulzim@umich.edu machine learning for catalyst design
Kristine Witkowski Assistant Research Scientist, ISR kwitkow@umich.edu Data Confidentiality
Josh pasek Assistant Professor, Communication Studies jpasek@umich.edu Social Science
Mosharaf Chowdhury Assistant Professor, CSE mosharaf@umich.edu
Tom Murphy Director of Computing and Network Services, ISR-ICPSR tomurphy@umich.edu
Yi Murphey Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Dearborn yilu@umich.edu
Michael Traugott Professor Emeritus, Communication Studies mtrau@umich.edu social sciences
Chuck Mayo Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology cmayo@med.umich.edu
Kira Barton Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering bartonkl@umich.edu big data in smart manufacturing
Jill Becker Professor, Psychology jbbecker@umich.edu social science, neuroscience, big data
Felipe Lopez Postdoc, Mechanical Engineering lopefz@umich.edu big data in industrial
Jun Zhang Professor, Psychology junz@umich.edu Big Data analysis (math)
Elizabeth Bruch Associate Professor, Sociology ebruch@umich.edu
Daniel Romero Assistant Professor, School of Information drom@umich.edu
Zefan fu master student, EECS Zefanfu@umich.edu
Fred Conrad Director and Research Professor, Survey Methodology fconrad@umich.edu Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences
Youngho Park Lecturer, Kinesiology younghop@umich.edu
Pam Davis-Kean Professor, Psychology pdakean@umich.edu
Luis Ortiz Assistant Professor, Computer and Information Science, UM-Dearborn leortiz@umich.edu Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences; Data Analytics for Security.
Saravanan Scientist datascience12a@gmail.com
Louis Yen Associate Director, Confucius Institute louisyen@umich.edu Establish an individualized de-identified longitudinal integrated health database for health service research over time
Michael Kallitsis Research Scientist, Merit Network, Inc., mgkallit@umich.edu Cybersecurity, data privacy, streaming data
Dan Brown Professor, School of Natural Resources and Environment danbrown@umich.edu social sciences

MIDAS Presentation

Downloadable here.

Useful Links